top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturetrtlz

Deaf Poets show review - 6.8.19 Las Rosas- Miami, FL


I have known about Deaf Poets for maybe 7 months only. They are this amazing rock band in New York. Cool, right? Until I fell in love with their music and then later find out they are originally from Miami and I have been missing out for YEARS. It was painful at first, but I coped with it. Then after months of healing, they announce they are coming to Miami to play a show June 8th. I was beyond excited for this news. After like a month of anticipation for this show, June 8th came. Let me tell you about it.


11:45 pm, June 8, 2019 arrived. Recently I have been very limited to shows I can go to thanks to my broken foot (it's almost healed now). But I was not going to miss this show. For the bands before, I hung out in the back so I wouldn't get stepped on, but when the time came for Deaf Poets to play, somehow I made my way up right next to the stage. They didn't even start playing yet, and I was excited just seeing them set up. This is one of my favorites and I was actually seeing them play. Finally it was time.


I never understood how just two guys can make such awesome music, but that's exactly what Sean and Nico do. They also put on an incredibly fun show packed with high energy. They look like they were born to do this. Sean (vocals/guitar) lead the show. And I was right there next to him. Watching him play was impressive. I was in awe and I don't even play guitar or know much about it. All I knew is he had some crazy riffs going and it was mind blowing. You can tell he loved it and was just rocking out and it was awesome. Then, there's Nico (drums). You can't watch these guys play and not get hyped up, especially watching Nico. For me, I'm a drummer so that was a bonus. But his energy is wild. His intensity is so high, his drums were falling over at times and he just keeps going. You can tell he is passionate about playing.


I was both embracing the magic of the show and trying to capture some of it on camera as well. It flew by even though it was almost an hour. I felt like the show just started and before I knew it, I hear the intro for Change & Bloom (which is what they ended with). This song got the entire place moving. I don't know if the show had an extra special vibe to it since they are from Miami, but it was incredible. After everyone was dancing their hardest, the show did unfortunately have to end. We all had a blast. I'll never forget how huge Sean's smile was as they were ending the last song and how fiercely Nico drummed. During the show, they mentioned they had vinyls for sale, so that was my next mission. Finding this merch.


I looked everywhere and could not find it. But I refused to leave without a copy of Change & Bloom on vinyl. I had no intention of talking to them, because I'm so awkward, but I didn't know what else to do. I could not find this merch. So they are packing up outside, and I just say "welp", shrug, and walk over. I apologize for interrupting, but ask about the merch. Sean is super nice and tells me it's no problem and they actually didn't have it set up yet. Then he starts talking to me and Nico comes over as well. I get to talk to them about how I found out about them and the devastation of finding out they were in Miami for years and I missed it, but was so glad they came now. They were both so nice and awesome and made me feel like they were just as stoked to meet me as I was them. I did leave with a vinyl (and it's amazing by the way).


If you ever get an opportunity to catch Deaf Poets live, do not pass it up. While you wait, you can check them out on Spotify here: https://tinyurl.com/y3gdf7d6

30 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page