top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturetrtlz

Interview with runrebel.run

Updated: Nov 28, 2021


I finally received the long awaited opportunity to chat with runrebel.run for my 24th interview. We talk about how it all began, her favorite gear, her newest single, hobbies, supporting women, future goals, being a space geek, and more! Get to know the amazing runrebel.run here:



trtlz: So I'm super excited we finally get to do this! I love doing interviews but when I get to interview one of my favorite people in the world, it just hits different.


trtlz: Let's begin with a little introduction. Tell us a bit about yourself!


runrebel.run: This is truly an amazing moment, and it means everything for you to take time to ask me questions, and spend time with me this evening! Thank you!


runrebel.run: I am runrebel.run, I am a producer, singer, songwriter and a multi-instrumentalist. I currently live in Toronto Ontario, and I make music that is a mix of Lo-fi dream gaze!


trtlz: How did the name runrebel.run come about?


runrebel.run: That’s a great question and one that I haven’t thought of for some time. It’s been a long time since I came up with the name.


runrebel.run: The name comes from the fact that I always felt like I was connected in music, and I was always afraid to follow my paths and dreams. Instead of facing my fears, I would rebel against my higher self and instinct and instead run away. I hid behind helping others with their musical goals and dreams instead of working on mine.


runrebel.run: By naming myself or really calling myself out, I am forced to face my greatest fears which is making my own music, performing, and putting myself at the forefront with my creativity.


trtlz: I absolutely love that! It's one of my favorite questions to ask, and sometimes (like now, haha) I am in awe of the cool stories behind the names. That is really cool that it has such a profound meaning and I feel like it really describes you as an artist well.


runrebel.run: Thank you, I try to do everything with purpose. ❤️


trtlz: Can you describe your sound? You previously classified it as Lo-fi Dream Gaze and I've also seen Shoegaze mentioned. For someone who might not be greatly familiar with the many types of sub genres to represent music, how would you explain it in further detail?


runrebel.run: Certainly! Lo-Fi like indie has several meanings, many people know it as the youtube study channel but to me, I feel Lo-fi is a good way to explain music that has more of a raw sound, not so polished and very grungy. This is true for a lot of home recordings, and that was important to the sound of my music.


runrebel.run: With my new release, I reworked the song many times to make sure it stays true to the lo-fi sound. Shoegaze is generally defined as a genre which was named after the fact that guitarists playing music were always staring at their pedals, using a lot overdrive, distortion, reverbs and delays.


runrebel.run: Dream pop is a very dreamy poppy sound drowned in reverb, many times with a lot of synths. I find my music does not specifically fit in any of these genres however it sits in the middle. I took my favorite parts of each style of music to create my latest song.


runrebel.run: My previous experience as a producer was strictly lo-fi Dream-Pop, however I have fallen in love with guitars, and the many possibilities they could provide in music creation. So with this new song, I introduced guitars into my music, and I feel this is the sound I want to continue with because it touches my heart.


trtlz: That is a perfect explanation and I very much agree that over time your sound has become a mix between all of these. And I think it works beautifully for you. It also keeps it unique and interesting not limiting yourself to a certain genre.


trtlz: I do really love hearing electronic sounds mixed with instruments like you do with the guitar. I feel like it also can intrigue a wider fan base for some into the electronic stuff and others into the sound of the physical instruments which gives it more of a band vibe.


runrebel.run: Yes, I come from electronic music but punk and rock have always been a big part of my life. It felt right to produce and write music that touches on both sides of my life.


trtlz: So you said you are a multi-instrumentalist and mentioned guitar already. What other different instruments do you play?


runrebel.run: Well, a little known fact I used to play the clarinet and the flute but judging by my dog's howling, I wasn't very good and it didn't stick because it wasn't cool for a teenager to be rocking out with a clarinet, it's something I want to revisit, now that I am older.


runrebel.run: However, playing the keys has been something I enjoyed playing, there are so many possibilities of sounds, especially now with midi. Synths can have a warm melty feeling that flows straight into your heart and can make you cry.

runrebel.run: I will share something special with you. The first song I had learned on keyboard was “beautiful dreamer”. My mom wanted me to learn it, so I learned on my step grandmother’s old electric keyboard. The keyboard has a special significance to me because I feel like I connect with her when I play it. So I like to use it in my production when I can.


trtlz: I'm not the most knowledgeable when it comes to what goes into making electronic music, but I do also agree that synths can be very beautiful and connect with your emotions.


trtlz: That's such a great story! I'll always think of that when I hear keys in your music now!


runrebel.run: Yes!!!


trtlz: And who knows, maybe we will see some clarinet or flute make a little debut in one of your future songs, huh?!


runrebel.run: I am honestly thinking of it. Sometimes connecting with your childhood is a good way to create new magical pieces. A common theme, at least for me in my music is nostalgia. I try to incorporate that feeling, I hope it conveys those feelings in others, however music always means something different to everyone.


trtlz: We touched a bit about your background already, but what inspired you to become an artist and create your own music?


runrebel. My biggest inspiration to create music is to create something that will touch people's hearts. I know that may sound cliche, however, when I write a song, I want my heart to connect to the listener and share how I feel. This is how I feel with many of my favorite songs. Sometimes there are pieces of a song I can listen to on repeat, it could be a bridge or a chorus, and if I am sad and I hear this piece of music, it can bring me to cloud 9. Sometimes it's so beautiful it brings tears to my eyes and makes me feel alive.

runrebel.run: I want to make people feel like that. Music has the ability to heal, make someone feel understood, make someone cry, and make someone smile. It's a magic ability, and I wanted to make people feel. It creates good energy for the world. I also found in that process of creation, I also started to learn more about myself and heal parts of myself I was not able to get through.


runrebel.run: I hope it can also inspire them to create and follow their dreams as my favorite music has done for me.


trtlz: Isn't it so amazing how much music can do? It can get you through any emotion you are feeling and help you express yourself in ways that otherwise might not be possible.


runrebel.run: Yes!


trtlz: Do you feel your personality portrayed in runrebel.run accurately reflects you as an individual in all areas of your life or is runrebel.run more of a character that is focused on only a portion of it?


runrebel.run: I feel runrebel.run is a part of me. The dreamy Pisces moon, the child, the fool in love. She lives between reality and dream. She is the part of me that takes all the pain and converts it into something beautiful.


runrebel.run: There is something I realized in heartbreak, it's one of the most beautiful and pure of emotions. Despite the pain that you feel, it's absolutely beautiful that humans can love someone to that level. A level that makes the body quiver. It's a dark theme but it best describes runrebel.run.


runrebel.run: It comes back to facing my fears, my first real heartbreak was the death of my mother.


runrebel.run: runrebel.run is a part of that, and by her taking my pain and turning it into something beautiful, I am able to heal and understand myself better.


trtlz: That's such an amazing way to be able to express yourself. How do you channel your emotions through your music and turn it into a song?


runrebel.run: I can channel my feelings into a song through the pitch or frequency of an instrument or note. This is a little harder in guitar because it's a new instrument for me to learn to play, I am excited to get better at it over time.


runrebel.run: I come from the electronic music angle, as a producer; as opposed to a musician, so it's difficult for me to use music theory jargon to explain it, although I have been trained, it's more foreign to me and takes more thought.


runrebel.run: Synths/Keys is the instrument I can best use to explain this. I find the right note or pitch of the synths in sequence to represent the feelings I want, I never plan things out, I just let it happen.


trtlz: That's so fascinating to me. I love how people can literally speak through the music and not just the lyrics. In my opinion it's one of the most beautiful things about music. Lyrics matter of course and I love being able to relate to the experiences of others, but it's really interesting when the music itself speaks on it's own.


runrebel.run: Yes and for me it's the melody that drives me.


trtlz: Let's talk about the your new song! Friday, November 26th is the big day! The release of your new track "Quantum Entanglement"! I know you've been working hard on it! How do you feel?


runrebel.run: Yes! Just like before this interview! Scared and Excited!


runrebel.run: It’s never easy putting yourself out there. The best thing is to not have expectations and just go with the flow. Honestly, when a song is done, and it’s released and out on it’s own, it’s like the end of a relationship. You put so much into it that you feel a little lost on what to do next.


trtlz: What was your inspiration and and how was the creative process for this song?


runrebel.run: With Quantum Entanglement, it began in the peak of isolation here in Canada in the winter. A very dark time, we were not allowed to leave our house, there was even a curfew and we were advised to not leave the house or we could face a huge fine.


runrebel.run: It was a very lonely time, a lot of time of self reflection. The song began on my squire strat on my bed in the comfort of the galaxy lights in my room, during school break. I generally make all my songs in bed; including the mixing. I worked and worked on this song, specifically the lyrics, until my fingers were raw. Not until I had the song right did I record it. It's the first time I really worked hard on lyrics. I normally let them flow, but in this case I wanted them to be right.


runrebel.run: The song is about the fact that we are all connected, despite how far away we are from each other, even if we are not physically in each other's presence. By hurting someone, we in turn hurt ourselves, and this is what leads to the title of the track Quantum Entanglement.


runrebel.run: Quantum Entanglement is where 2 particles are connected despite their distance. What is done to one, it happens to the other. If someone hurts you the best thing to do is forgive, walk and away and keep love in your heart. Anger is your own poison.


runrebel.run: The song was me working through my feelings from something dark to something light. To transform pain into understanding and forgiveness.


runrebel.run: The cover art represents 2 particles intwined. It was created by one of my high school best friends; Nikki Cormier. She used to draw anime on me in art class, it seemed fitting to have it come full circle and involve someone who helped shape me to who I am today. Every person we meet helps shape us in some way or another, especially when you have a close bond. She was there to help me through the death of my mother. The anniversary of her passing is the release date of my debut single.


runrebel.run: Everything is connected.


trtlz: Wow. So so much has gone into this song and your lyrics definitely tell the story well, but there's so much more behind it now that I get to hear your explanation of it.


runrebel.run: I am glad that you asked, these are all really good questions. I am really enjoying this.


trtlz: I feel like this song is quite different from some of your demos you've had out in the past and it really shows how much you have progressed. I love the blend of different styles in this song. It has like a rock vibe mixed with an electronic synthy vibe. And I love the lofi sound in the vocals, it's clear but certain parts have that distorted sound which I feel makes it more genuine and raw. The guitars and vocals combined really enhance the grungier rock portion of the song while the electronic elements also blended with certain guitar effects keep it spacey and unique. And then I feel like the simplicity of the drums are solid and back the song up as a whole.


runrebel.run: That’s amazing thank you!


trtlz: How was it getting everything in order just the way you wanted it with such variety of elements mixed in? Once everything was ready, how was the recording process?


runrebel.run: The recording process was tricky. It was part of my school project and everything had to be online. The song was actually recorded twice, due to time constraints and not having the ability to work with the musicians one on one. I am not used to working with session musicians, all my previous music creations were done on Ableton Live in demo mode, another challenge was doing this between Pro Tools and Logic. Without having a band this can be hard. I wanted the challenge of organizing people to play my music as opposed to doing it myself. One of my biggest fears was working with others, I always did everything myself, it takes a lot of courage to let someone work on your baby. You need to be humble, assertive and be able to communicate well, so everyone is on the same page.


runrebel.run: The first version was very poppy for my style, so I brought the song back to my bedroom to give a darker gritter lo-fi feel that I wanted.


runrebel.run: In the end the final mix included the drums which were recorded in Orange Lounge, by Gary Craig, he worked with Canadian artist’s like Jan Arden, Rodeo Kings and Tom Cochrane. He did a real cool job on the drums and I am honored to have him on my single. The song by Jan Arden “Good Mother” was really special to me growing up so I love that connection.


runrebel.run: The bass was done by the Juno Award-winning bass player John Switzer, who was also the coordinator for Seneca’s Independent Music Production. It’s a big honor to have him play on my music.


runrebel.run: The guitars were done with Pedro Alvarado of Black Budget. We recorded the guitars using the Vox AC30 and using an OX box to create the right sound. Working together we really nailed the sound, and I am forever grateful for him helping me with this. It was a lot of fun to work together!


runrebel.run: I recorded the synths myself using logic and my Arturia Mini Lab keyboard. I used several layers of synths which is used in the instrumental Chorus.


runrebel.run: Everything was mixed by me in my bed, and then it was mastered through Kspurewal, which is one of my favorite classmates from my Seneca Class. It’s always good to have a fresh set of ears.


trtlz: Thanks so much for sharing that! I feel like this could definitely inspire others to collab more with other musicians after hearing how well your song turned out! I know after hearing this, a lot went into recording it, and you did overcome a few obstacles, but it seems well worth it because it did turn out great!


runrebel.run: It was a great learning experience in the recording process, and I am grateful for it.


trtlz: I mentioned before, certain pieces of the song reflect almost a spacey sound to me, particularly with the synths and guitars. And then your cover art appears to be sort of spacey, which by the way it looks super cool - like glow in the dark almost and I love it! I was going to ask what influenced the cover art, but you beat me to it! Haha.


runrebel.run: I am glad I was able to answer the question for you. I am kind of a space geek. Shout out to Morgan Freeman and through the wormhole! It was one of my favourite shows.


trtlz: Did that have any influence at all with the theme of your song as well?


runrebel.run: Well the show has some episodes on Quantum Theory, it’s one of a few shows I watched on it, which ties into the title.


trtlz: What different equipment have you used over the years and what is your current set up? Do you have anything in particular you always use?


runrebel.run: I originally started with a Yamaha PSS-780 that my friend lent me in Portugal. I hooked that up with a midi and used Ableton live. When I moved to Toronto I eventually switched to the Arturia Minilab, and moved to Logic, and bought an interface. I started with Lexicon Alpha, but moved to the Pro Sonus Audiobox 96 because I needed phantom power for my AT2020. My headphones are the DT 770 Pro.


trtlz: What would you say has been the most motivational thing for you that has helped get you where you are now?


runrebel.run: There are a few things that have motivated me. First of all survival; for me to continue my existence on this earth I knew I had to work in music. I tried living “the expected” or “normal life” and it didn’t work for me. My mom worked a normal job and was miserable and swore I would never do that. This has propelled me to cross borders.


runrebel.run: Other motivation includes obviously how music feels. What I explained previously about turning pain into beauty.


runrebel.run: A big thing that motivates me is inspiring other women. During my darkest of times, I was helped by the YWCA. They helped me get back on my feet, and they are a big reason I was able to go to school. They helped me in believing in my self, and finding the right programs to help make my dream come true.


runrebel.run: There were many motivational women in my life, strong and beautiful women who inspire me, and pushed me to keep going. I can only hope someday my music touches enough lives, and I can help give back to those strong and beautiful women and also help the YWCA change other people’s lives like they did mine. To show women that you can always follow your dreams and succeed. Women being mothers have the greatest power to change society, so we must empower them. Especially help those who have experienced domestic violence and single mothers in poverty.


trtlz: Incredible. I love the support you’ve received from the YWCA and how they have helped enable you to be in the position you are now! I think so many people feel like they can never obtain the resources they need to accomplish their dreams and easily get discouraged, but this proves there are options!


trtlz: And although there are so many great men out there as well, I feel women don’t get the spotlight enough . I love that you are so open to sharing your experience about your growth which will no doubt motivate other women.


runrebel.run: Certainly. One of the most shocking facts I found out is only 2% of producers are women in the US in 2020. This was published by Statista Research Department.


trtlz: So I know aside from your own music project, you have teamed up with Pedro from Black Budget to start a music themed podcast, Critical Zero. Please share a little about that, how was it born and what do you hope to achieve with it?


runrebel.run: Ah Yes! Critical Zero was a project that me and Pedro decided to do, which it’s main goal is to help support music we like, music organization, even gear we love. The whole theme is music. Everything about music.

runrebel.run: We do this by curating playlists, I go out and take photos of events and artists we love and share them on our website for artists or events to use for their promotion.


runrebel.run: We also started a podcast which is currently on youtube but we are going to be expanding very shortly. The last episode we interviewed Jack Doris From Lucid Smog Disorder.


runrebel.run: We also plan to have events. We have one planned for January 2022 at Living Colour, in Toronto. We are really excited for how this can help support the scene! Once things are more established we would like to do some shows that part of the proceeds will go to charity like the YWCA.


trtlz: That's so exciting! Obviously I am a huge fan of supporting music and the artists that create it so I think this is a wonderful idea. It will be a great resource for anyone who loves music for sure!


trtlz: As you know, I also tried to plan an event with your help which unfortunately had to be canceled due to Covid so it's really exciting to see you be able to do stuff like this now that things are becoming a little more normal again. I hope to be able to make it to one of your events in the near future! And I love that we share the same vision to use our platforms and events to give back to the music scene or community!


runrebel.run: Yes! 100%! We will have our event, I guess when the time is right.


trtlz: How do you connect with other artists and people involved in music both locally and worldwide?


runrebel.run: A big resource of mine has been twitter. Instagram and Tik Tok are the big ones now but aside from us meeting, I don’t think I met anyone on Instagram, I had to already know them in person. Twitter has a really nice underground music community, and they can be very supportive. Facebook also has that ability through the groups, and I have gotten a lot of support there too.


runrebel.run: For me to meet people locally it was a big challenge during covid, but I was able to meet lots of people through events, online conferences like indie week, volunteering to do photography and friends from Seneca College.


trtlz: Yeah for sure. I've had the most success with Twitter, but have met some pretty cool people involved in music through Instagram as well!


runrebel.run: I think the most magical meeting was us. I am grateful for that. Thank you Instagram!


trtlz: Yes I never was much of an Instagram fan before that haha. Now I am grateful as well!

trtlz: Are there any specific artists, songs or albums that have greatly influenced you as a musician?


runrebel.run: Yes of course! I am constantly listening to music. It’s my greatest passion. My biggest influences include Esthero, Julian Casablancas, Radiohead, Nirvana, The Walkmen, Tame Impala, Beach House, and Deerhunter.


runrebel.run: I say Julian Casablancas because of his solo project. However I think the strokes and the voidz really influenced me to start making music. I love hearing how the demos turned into the big productions from the studio.


runrebel.run: The band I listen to the most now though is The Buttertones and Charlie Megira. I want to make some music more influenced by tremolo guitars and synths in the future.


trtlz: Oh that will be something to look forward to for sure!!


trtlz: What are some of your interests aside from music?


runrebel.run: I guess I am really into photography at the moment. There is a rush to try and get beautiful shots, and then the editing process makes me so happy because I can sit there and enjoy the moment, where the artist is smiling or the crowd is in ecstasy, and you bring your own artistic expression to it.


runrebel.run: I am also kind of a workaholic, especially through music, so I enjoy helping with artist promotion, and bookings. Anything I can do to help out.


runrebel.run: I love going to shows in my spare time, playing video games and watching documentaries or shows you can learn things. Although my boyfriend has finally convinced me to relax a little and watch Breaking Bad Finally!


runrebel.run: I am honestly probably the only person who hasn’t seen the show. I rarely watch television shows.


trtlz: Maybe not the ONLY person who hasn't, but definitely part of a small percentage. Kudos to your boyfriend for actually being able to convince you to relax sometimes haha.


runrebel.run: Yes and you with fortnite. ❤️


runrebel.run: I would be lost without the 2 of you.


trtlz: I know you've been blessed with opportunities to travel throughout different places in the world. What have been some of your favorite places?


runrebel.run: Oh my heart will always be in Portugal. Honestly Lisbon is one of the most magical places. The people, the food, the weather and music. For me it was heaven.


runrebel.run: My most magical memories were me walking around Lisbon, listening to the album Lisbon by The Walkmen. It was surreal being there. I would practice my singing by the sea, where I knew no one could hear me cause I was scared to sing in front of people at that time.


runrebel.run: As I got braver I would sing on the paths, and close my eyes when I would pass people to try to get over my fear of people hearing my voice. Portugal was my nest that helped me grow as an artist.


runrebel.run: On every block there were musicians playing from all around the world, it was really inspiring.


trtlz: Ahh it seems so amazing and beautiful. I hope one day we get to travel there together so you can show me everything in person!


runrebel.run: Yes! Indeed, I hope to go back in 2023.


runrebel.run: Maybe things will be better then for travel.


trtlz: Oh man I really hope so


trtlz: What's next for runrebel.run? Do you have any plans in place or goals for the near future? Collaborations? An album?


runrebel.run: Great question! No plans yet for an album, I am kind of a singles girl for now. I put all my energy into one song, especially since I also mix my own tracks.


runrebel.run: The next release I have planned is “Until”. This song came before Quantum Entanglement but the vocals have been a challenge. I think my vocal range can finally do this song justice.


runrebel.run: This song was entirely produced on Ableton Live. I created the beats using samples of individual percussions, not loops. I redid the percussions, around 3 times. I had 2 computers crash in the middle of it's creation. It's been a challenge but I think it will be beautiful when its done.


runrebel.run: I honestly believe this and Quantum Entanglement are 2 of my best songs, and this is why I am excited to release them.


runrebel.run: As for collabs I am working on a punk rock track with Pedro from Black Budget, which happens to be my partner. I am really lucky that we can work together on music. We will also have his drummer Jack Lang perform the percussions for it, I am really pumped because I think we can all make something cool.


runrebel.run: There is another collab I will be doing with an artist from California, more details to be revealed soon but I will be doing a duet vocals with him. In a style of music I always wanted to work on.


trtlz: Oh man the computers crashing. What a nightmare. For overcoming so many challenges, once it's done it's going to feel so good I guarantee.


trtlz: And both of those collabs sound really intriguing! For sure something to keep us updated on! Im so excited for everything you've accomplished and even more for what's to come!


runrebel.run: Thank you! That means a lot!


trtlz: Thanks so much for doing this! I feel like I have learned so much more about you and it's been super cool! Is there anything else you'd like to add?


runrebel.run: That I am appreciative of all the love and support you’ve given me these years and the music community! Keep going! I am so proud of you!


trtlz: Thank you sooo much! I'm super proud of you as well


runrebel.run: Yeah!



You can check out runrebel.run's new single "Quantum Entanglement" on Spotify and other streaming services here: https://linktr.ee/runrebel.run


Check out Critical Zero here: https://critical-zero.com/home

74 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page