top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturetrtlz

Flowering Boulder- Kyoto Lo-Fi

Updated: Jul 26, 2019


If you're looking for some awesome new music, you're in luck because Kyoto Lo-Fi is out here blowing minds with their second single "Flowering Boulder" released on July 11, and as my old friend Nigel Thornberry would say, it is simply "smashing".


They ease into the song with a crackling distortion sound shortly followed by the majestic sound of the organ rolling in, creating a very distinctive intro. It has such a unique build up and then dives into this beautiful, angelic melody.


The drums/percussion are nice in this song because they really hold the song together without being too busy. I love the subtle jingle from the tambourine in the background and the crash of the cymbals adds some zest to the track. The bass is chill, but so deep and groovy. I feel like it steers this song in a really cool direction. Then of course, the tone of the guitars give this track a refreshingly crisp sound. I feel like they are bright and colorful and the solos are also really satisfying.


I absolutely love the funky vibe from the music, but the vocals definitely add a splash of character and charm to the song. The lyrics will pierce your soul and punch you right in the heart with lines like "Is your head in the sand? No I don't understand. Cause I don't feel the same and I don't think I can."


I really enjoy the brilliant and quirky ending where you hear guitars soloing and shredding, the piano elegantly gliding through, while the bass and drums hold the beat steady. You'll be so engaged with this song, once you realize it's coming to an end, you'll be getting ready to hit replay.


I was very much impressed by this song and if you haven't heard it yet, you can do so right here:


Spotify : https://tinyurl.com/y327e5l5

Soundcloud: https://tinyurl.com/yxk5p6hg

150 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page