top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturetrtlz

Glisten- Defend The Rhino


Defend The Rhino is the unique instrumental project of Nathaniel Sutton. The latest release, Glisten, has an ambient tone, and is also quite experimental. I also feel it would be a perfect selection for meditation, if you're into that.


Glisten has a very tranquilizing sound. It definitely reminds me of something you would hear as the soundtrack for like a nature documentary because of how peaceful it is. I like the way the album is composed. Some of the tracks in the beginning, such as Comfort Zone and Somber Mafia have a bright, crisp resonance and are soothing waves of sound. Uber Schnitzel is fun and reminds me of Koto music mixed with some rock.


Glowing Kid is a lively piece. I think this is my favorite track because it's so diverse. The intro relays an intense mood. Keeping that same energy, the sound transitions into like a spacey sensation for me. It then moves to a more somber tone, before picking back up with a vibrant ending with drums and a symphonic nature.


Taco Train has a bit of a mysterious sound. I get a kind of dark, edgy emotion from it. Then, it undergoes a transformation into a slow rock style track, which sort of brightens it up in the end.


Warp Speed Ahead emits a ghostly, eerie-like vibe. I feel it's an interesting track to end with. It is deep and gloomy with really long, extended notes. Contrary to what you might think, somehow it is still relaxing and satisfying to hear.


If you're into instrumental pieces with interesting, ambient-like and wavy sounds, you should check out Defend The Rhino's Glisten album. You can do that on Spotify here: https://tinyurl.com/y6bhnmxq

10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page