top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturetrtlz

Interview with 4everunknown


For interview #21, I got this awesome chance to chat with 4everunknown. We get to discuss how his music endeavor began, his upcoming album, his creative process, future goals, skateboarding, and more. Check it out here:



trtlz: I really appreciate you taking the time to do this interview. Thank you so much.


trtlz: Can we start with a little introduction? Tell me a little about yourself.


4everunknown: My name is Nick, artist name 4everunknown obviously. I’m from New Mexico where dreams die. I have a lot of demons that I deal with. Most of which I express in my music. I’m super introverted and don’t talk much. And I’m really just a normal guy making music in my room. Tryna chase a far fetched dream.

trtlz: Ahh man, you're not enjoying New Mexico? And I feel you on struggling with things. Music is such an amazing way to express your feelings and emotions and as a bonus it helps other people too when they listen to it. 4everunknown: It’ll always be my home and I got love for it but nobody really makes it out of here. So it’s just tough to get any recognition out here since there really isn’t any type of scene out here. trtlz: Ahh, gotcha. trtlz: How long have you been involved in music and singing? How did you decide this is what you wanted to do? 4everunknown: I always wanted to do music but I was never able to actually write songs. So around 8th grade I started to actually put effort into trying to improve my writing. And as for actually making and reading stuff I started right after I graduated. So for about 3 years now. trtlz: How did you decide on the name 4everunknown? Have you always done music under this name? 4everunknown: Was getting high with my friend trying to think of names and I came up with that one. Really not anything special honestly. But I chose it because I am very secluded and kept to myself and not a lot of people know the real me so it made sense. trtlz: Yeah that does make sense, it's a cool name trtlz: Do you play any instruments or anything or have you in the past? 4everunknown: I learned like two chords on the guitar and then never touched it again. And I learned like one song on the piano and never touched it again lol. So when I was a kid I did a little bit, not much. trtlz: Ahh, did you just realize it wasn't for you?

4everunknown: Yeah just didn’t have the passion for it. I think it’s super cool when people can play all kinds of instruments but it’s just not for me personally. trtlz: Who are some of your biggest influences specifically in music? 4everunknown: I would say my biggest influences would be lil Tracy and lil durk. I have a lot of people I look up to musically but those would be the top two for me. trtlz: Yeah I love music so that can be a pretty overwhelming question sometimes, but it's cool you're able to name some of the most influential artists to you with such a huge list to choose from trtlz: What was your favorite album growing up? Or artist if that's too difficult of a question haha 4everunknown: My beautiful dark twisted fantasy by Kanye was probably up there. That whole project is a masterpiece. As far as artists I used to listen to early Eminem a lot. But my favorite artist growing up was probably kid cudi. trtlz : Oh yeah for sure, good choice. trtlz: You mentioned before New Mexico's music scene is pretty small. Have you tried performing live or creating something with anyone out there? 4everunknown: Working on a song with someone from down here currently. And I’ve never performed. I have extremely bad anxiety so I would have to get that under control before I do anything like that. trtlz: Extremely relatable. That would be amazing to be able to do in the future I'm sure, when you're ready of course. And that's dope you are working on a song with someone locally. How's that going? 4everunknown: It’s going well. I just need to finish up a little bit of my part and send it over to him and then it all depends on what he has going on. But overall it’s going good. trtlz: How do you normally go about choosing beats for your music? Do you have some favorite producers you tend to use? And certain things you look for? 4everunknown: I have a few producers that I have genuine connections with so I normally just make do with what is sent to me. But lately I’ve just been on YouTube looking for beats. I never look for a particular style as long as the vibe feels right and I feel as if I can do it justice then I use it. trtlz: Nice. I personally really like artists that use some of the same producers for that exact reason. I feel like sometimes you can feel the connection in the music too. And then I really look forward to seeing more tracks pop up with them. trtlz : Where does your inspiration to write typically come from? 4everunknown: The type of song is normally dependent on the mood I’m in while writing it. A lot of time I also just write as I record. So I’ll record a small part then write the next part etc. So it’s really different for every song trtlz: Oh that's interesting you write as you record sometimes. I bet some of best parts are created in those moments 4everunknown: Some of my favorite songs are made that way. And it’s been easier. trtlz: I know you've been working on a new project. Has that been easier or more challenging during this whole quarantine? Or do you feel it hasn't affected your creativity in any way? 4everunknown: The quarantine really hasn’t changed my day to day life any. I don’t really go anywhere to begin with so it’s just given me more time honestly. trtlz: Speaking of the new project, can you tell me anything about it? Do you have a date planned yet? 4everunknown: Less than a week from now. Just depends on when the cover art is finished. trtlz: So everything else is pretty much finished? Thats dope. How many tracks will be on it? 4everunknown: Yeah everything else is complete. And it will have 7 tracks. The two singles I’ve dropped and 5 new songs. trtlz: Yeah! I heard the singles you put out so far. I really like "stack up". I love the upbeat tempo on this. Your vocals really vibe well with the beat on this one. It sounds so good and its my favorite of the two. What was the process like putting this song together? 4everunknown: Found the beat on YouTube. And i wrote the hook within like 10 minutes. And the verses I just laid down as I went. trtlz: "role play" has a different mood, kinda more slowed down and chill. I like it more every time I hear it. I think the style meshes well with the theme of the song, you know what I mean? Did the beat inspire what you wrote about and how or was it the other way around? 4everunknown: The beat definitely inspired the way I came on it. And the style I used and what not. I wanted to try out something different that I’ve never done and that beat allowed me to do that. trtlz: What would you say is your favorite track from the upcoming album? 4everunknown: My personal favorites are trenches freestyle and neverland. I love the way trenches freestyle is mixed and I enjoy doing songs without a hook. And even though I said I like doing songs without a hook, the hook is the reason I like neverland so much. And overall they just have a great sound to ‘em. Both very different from each other. trtlz: Sounds like the album will have a variety of sounds which is really cool. I’m excited to hear the rest of the tracks trtlz: How was the process as a whole making the album? Did it come easy for you? Were there any difficulties? 4everunknown: Honestly this one came relatively easy. My last two projects were a little more difficult. At the beginning it was a little weird but I found my stride and was able to knock it out relatively easy. I mean I put days upon days into it but overall it was a much smoother process than my past bodies of work. trtlz: Nice. Hopefully that means you also really enjoyed working on it . And you’re happy with how it came out. trtlz: What's something you feel like you learned or discovered from creating this project? 4everunknown: I learned that I can get a lot done if I put my full focus into it. I also realized that I need to be more mindful of my content matter. In this album I reference girls a lot just because that’s the norm and everybody does it but I never really took into account how it would be perceived. And I am happily married so I am gonna fully stray away from that in the future. So you can consider this album the end of this chapter in my music. trtlz: I think that’s actually really cool you’ll start to focus on different content in the future. I really respect that. I also think it will give you a bit of a challenge in your future writing but in a good way. And will for sure make it stand out from the others. 4everunknown: I’ve been making and writing some amazing music the last few days so I think it’s gonna be a good thing for me. It is a bit of a challenge but it forces me to be a little more thoughtful when writing so it’s a nice change. trtlz: Will those be released as individual tracks? 4everunknown: Not sure honestly. I’m not gonna release anything for a bit after the album. Just gonna be consistently working on new music and maybe I’ll want to do another project and these will go on there or they may just be release as singles. Just gonna play it by year. trtlz: Makes sense. I’m really interested to hear those once they are out. I think it will be an exciting transition for you. 4everunknown: 100%. Super excited to move forward and keep improving. trtlz: Now that you're just about done and ready to drop the album, do you have any other plans or goals set for the near future? 4everunknown: Just want to keep getting better. Keep being consistent and outside of music I have a clothing brand and we are getting stuff situated for our next drop so that’s about all. trtlz: Oh shoot that’s awesome! Is it online? Can we drop a link to that? 4everunknown: Yes it is, we have a few things up there from our last drop. Link: https://t.co/SwlVT0mKTU trtlz: I noticed you're also into skateboarding. How long have you been doing that? Is it a newer hobby or something you've done for years? 4everunknown: I used to skateboard when I was a kid for many years did competitions and what not. Then I quit for about 8-9 years and now I just do it here and there for fun.

trtlz: That's dope

trtlz: Hey man I want to thank you again for doing this, it was really cool! Anything you’d like to add? 4everunknown: I don’t believe so , I think we touched base on everything. trtlz: Cool thanks again!



Keep a look out for 4everunknown's newest album coming soon. You can listen to his music on soundcloud here:


32 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page