top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturetrtlz

Interview with Caspy

Updated: Jan 14, 2021


For interview #22, I got this exciting opportunity to chat with Caspy. We discuss things such as how he got started in music, his roots, favorite equipment, Adventure Time, and more. Get to know Caspy here:


trtlz: Thanks for taking some time to chat with me today. I'm super stoked. Let's start with a little introduction. Who is Caspy?


Caspy: Caspy is someone i like to say is another version of myself that i like to express through music whether it be angry music or incredibly sad music.


trtlz: How did you come up with the name Caspy?


Caspy: The name caspy derived from casper which was a former pet name and it's also a little jab at how pale my skin is


trtlz: Nice I like it. I think it’s pretty creative!


Caspy: It has like a little cute ring to it as well!


trtlz: Yes it does! I completely agree


trtlz: What inspired you to start getting into creating music?


Caspy: This might sound cliche as hell but seeing my friends make music and doing crazy stuff. It's like a domino effect sorta


trtlz: That makes complete sense though. I see people making music all the time and it seems like so much fun to be part of that. It’s kinda why I got into doing this!


Caspy: For sure! Everything usually comes in full cycle in my opinion.


trtlz: What kind of music did you listen to growing up vs now and how has that influenced you in your own music?


Caspy: I used to listen to a lot emo rock, punk, death core and post hardcore. Now I listen to hyperpop, emo-rap and rap. All these contributed into how I sing. My vocals are a bit more aggressive than most when i want them to be. All the hyperpop, emo rap and just regular rap influenced my beat selection and how I write. Sometimes I want to write about something that could be deemed as relatable or what I've gone through or I just want to make a vibe-y song for you to just chill with friends and listen through, y'know?


trtlz: Yeah totally. I can definitely hear some of that influence in your music . That actually relates to my next question!


trtlz: I noticed your songs have a range of different genres and you don’t really limit yourself to one specific sound or style. Is that something you do intentionally or you just like trying different things out depending on what you feel at the time?


Caspy: I just like trying different things really. I wanna show ppl I'm not afraid of different and prove to them that I can attack them as well as I can attack the norm.


trtlz: Yeah that's something that really intrigues me about your music. I feel like it definitely keeps it interesting. And I actually really like that emo rock and hardcore influence in some of your music because I grew up listening to that too and it's really cool to hear it mixed in to make it new and unique


Caspy: Glad you like it! I can never forget my roots.


trtlz: Let's go back to the first song you ever wrote. Do you remember it? Can you tell me about it and what it was like writing it?


Caspy: The first song I ever wrote was called "alone". The song was centered around how my abandonment issues ruined a lot of relationships for me. Platonically and romantically. It was weird writing out my feelings and uploading it for public display at first.


trtlz: Yeah I can imagine how weird and kinda scary that must be at first. Especially something so sensitive and personal. But those are some of the greatest songs


trtlz: So the very first song I ever heard of yours was "Slow Dance" and when I heard it I was really impressed. It goes back to what I was saying before of how you mix in different genres and how awesome that is. What would you say is your favorite song that you have made?


Caspy: My favorite song was off my recent ep, seraph's sorrow


Caspy: I feel like that is what i want more of in the near future.


trtlz: Speaking of that, you very recently dropped an EP called "when tragedy struck...". It turned out pretty great. I hope you're proud of it! What was the process like making it? Was it something that you worked on a little over time or was it more of a sudden burst of creativity?


Caspy: I worked on it over time actually! The process was definitely up and down due to my mental randomly falling but after the mental curveball subsides, I get a burst of creativity and the space to express myself freely.


trtlz: When I first listened, I was drawn to how emotional the EP is. I really appreciate it because I feel like I can relate to it in some ways like when I feel like I'm letting people down or I'm wanting to be alone. Are you comfortable sharing a little more about what inspired it?


Caspy: There was a lot of mental gymnastics that I went through last year. It was stressful and mentally draining to the point that I thought about taking my own life. Love, existential crisis, abandonment issues, losing close friends over stupid stuff. It was a mental rollercoaster.


Caspy: But it helped me mature.


trtlz: Man, same. I'm sorry to hear last year was so rough for you. It's really inspiring to know that even though you had to deal with so much that you should have never had to go through, you were able to mature from it and also use it to create something so amazing


trtlz: The whole EP really is great, but I tried to narrow it down to my top pick. Which was difficult because they are all so good. And then I got down to two and couldn't decide haha. So one top pick of mine from this project is "I left My Heart In Florida". I love the sound, lyrics, the vibe. It all goes so well and it's super catchy. It's in my head all the time haha. My favorite line is "don't make me feel shitty for wanting to be alone". Sometimes that same thought goes through my head when I'm feeling anti-social and like I'm disappointing people because of it and that one line really caught my attention.


trtlz: My 2nd pick is "No I don't have a jacket (cold pt 2)". That one reminds me a lot of my own personal things as well and I really love listening to that one. It has such a beautiful sound and melody. Do you have a track maybe you are most proud of (I know you previously mentioned seraph's sorrow) or one that is extra meaningful to you and what leads you to choose that song?


Caspy: The one i'm most proud of is No I don't have a jacket. It's like i put a lot work into that one. I wanted everyone to feel the very raw emotion in that one since it was the last track!


trtlz: You really succeeded with that for sure. If I had to pick one for you, that's the one I'd choose! Not only do the lyrics and beat help with experiencing the emotion in it, but the way you did the vocals really express it well too. I really do love that one.


trtlz: Do you have any specific equipment you prefer using when creating and recording your music?


Caspy: Audiotechnica 2020


Caspy: Or anything in that brand


trtlz: What are some of the most challenging things you have had to face while being an artist and creating music?


Caspy: Networking. I really, really suck at approaching others about things such as collaborating and things like that.


trtlz: Why do you love music and what has been the best thing about making music and being part of the music scene right now?

Caspy: Just being able to get my thoughts out to the world and relating with others I've never met before. It's therapeutic in a way.


trtlz: I can absolutely see that


trtlz: Do you enjoy working with other artists doing features or having them hop onto one of your tracks or do you prefer solo stuff?


Caspy: Yeah i do. I just wished i could do it more often but my social anxiety prevents me from even reaching out sometimes. :/


trtlz: Who have been some fun artists you have collabed with in the past that you have really enjoyed?


Caspy: dylan xo, whywewish, kawasaki and roxsu. They're really really cool to me and i enjoy the chemistry that we have


trtlz: Besides making stunning music, what are some other things you're really passionate about?


Caspy: I don't do it personally but i really love art! I hang out with a lot of artists and they're pretty good in their own right!


trtlz: Same! I actually tried to do it myself and it was a huge disaster, a complete fail haha. But I still love other people's art!


trtlz: Where is your favorite spot to sing whether it's to practice your own songs or when you're listening to other music just for fun?


Caspy: Maybe my bathroom, specifically in the shower. I dunno it just sounds better in the shower for some odd reason.


trtlz: I noticed you appear to be pretty into Adventure Time haha. What do you love most about it?


Caspy: Do not get me started on Adventure Time! Honestly that show is the main reason why i started making music in the first place. The characters, the issues and the relatability in that show is insane.


trtlz: Ahaha, well I think that is super awesome! That's an amazing fact about yourself. And real cool how much of an effect it has on your music


trtlz: So again, you've just released your latest EP, what's next for Caspy? Do you have any specific ideas or goals for the future?


Caspy: Honestly, I just go with the flow at this point. I am entering nerdcore so i wanna see how that goes


You can check out Caspy's newest EP, and his other tracks on Soundcloud here:


66 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page