top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturetrtlz

Interview with Chef Squid


So for interview #11, Chef Squid agreed to chat it up with me and it was awesome! I got to learn more about how Chef Squid started, his interests, and thoughts on the music scene. Check this out and keep reading to find out what the best restaurant in Indiana is!



trtlz: Hey! Thank you for doing this interview with me! 


trtlz: Let's do a little intro to start with. Who is Chef Squid? Tell me a little about yourself and your music. 


Chef Squid: You’re welcome and Chef Squid is a combination of things. To be cliché you would say he’s an artist, but I’d describe myself as a character. I love to show my goofy personality whether it’s the clothes I wear or the way my personality is when I’m around friends. My music is a combination of my emotions and my dreams.


trtlz: Yeah I often find your stuff to be fun!


trtlz: And that's a cool way to describe your music. I like that!


trtlz: How long have you been doing music?


Chef Squid: I’ve been doing music off and on since I was in second grade. Unless we count when I was 3 strumming on a mini acoustic guitar haha


trtlz: it totally counts!!


trtlz: So your name is awesome. I always think of Rocket Power when I hear it haha. But how did you come up with the name and what does it mean to you?


Chef Squid: So I’ll keep a long story short Squid came from a buddy I met while hanging around downtown he called me squid one day as I was walking because of my Snapchat name at the time which was a reference to the Adult Swim show Squidbillies. The Chef part came from another one of my downtown peers who had Chef in his stage name. So I made a bet with him that if I beat him in madden that I’d be able to use Chef in my stage name. Somehow I managed to win and Chef Squid came to be. Took me a few weeks to develop the name Chef Squid, just knew Squid wasn’t going to cut it. So now I like to use the chef mantra and say that I’m cooking up something good.


trtlz: That's perfect! I love it. That's one of my favorite things. Hearing how a name came to be. That's a cool story.


trtlz: How did you get into music? I'm assuming there are some big musical influences in your life? Who would those be?


Chef Squid: Well music's always been a part of my life whether it was me and my pops singing sloppy joe (lunch lady land) by Adam Sandler while fixing dinner or listening to Money by Pink Floyd with my grandpa, music has been a way for me to discover a different world. The same reason people read books I listen to music to go on a vacation. Now that I’m older my biggest inspirations would be Jim Morrison, Rick James, and Chris Cornell. All 3 of them have a unique characteristic that’s genuine.


trtlz: What inspires you when it comes to music? What gets your creativity going? Whats your song writing process like?


Chef Squid: The things around me, I honestly listen to other music or write on nights it storms. I jot down certain words and phrases and piece things together.


trtlz: Does the sound of the rain sort of inspire you? Or you just like writing during storms because it's a great time to do it?


Chef Squid: Combination of both. The rain is like a theatrical accompaniment. Also it’s a nice way to pass the time.


trtlz: Yeah I can appreciate that


trtlz: What is your favorite track of yours and why?


Chef Squid: That’s tough probably Violet Nights. Just because it has a mellow midnight rain feel to it.


trtlz: my favorite track is Late Nights. What's the story behind that song? Like where did the inspiration for that song come from?


Chef Squid: Honestly was back when I was drinking I was just in a mood and it’s just what my mind is like not sober.


trtlz: Makes a lot of sense considering what it's about


trtlz: What is the biggest challenge you face as an artist?


Chef Squid: For me it’s finding gigs, funding for projects, and trying to be my biggest fan.


trtlz: Are gigs hard to find where you live in general?


Chef Squid: Somewhat yes. I’ve just been going to plenty of open mics.


trtlz: How is the response on those usually?


Chef Squid: Usually good and my favorite part is talking to people after my 3-4 song set.


trtlz: Yeah that would probably be my favorite part of a show as well!


trtlz: What's your favorite part about being an artist?


Chef Squid: The fact I get to create something is phenomenal


trtlz: I remember you were working on some new material. Are you still doing that? Can you tell me anything about it yet?


Chef Squid: Yes I’m still writing some stuff. Not much to be told yet, but it will be a story.


trtlz: ok that's pretty cool 


trtlz: in your opinion, what's the greatest thing that's happened to the music scene and also whats the worst thing?


Chef Squid: Ah that’s a tough one. So I’ll be honest my answer is the same for both and it’s the streaming platforms. It’s great because you can share your music and get feedback and grow as an artist, but now everyone can claim to be an artist. Just because you have entrepreneur in your bio are you really an entrepreneur. Just because you say you’re a teacher are students learning? Now I will say if you’re experimenting with trying to do music it can be good, but it’s certainly a double edged sword.


trtlz: That's an interesting answer. That it's the answer for both I mean. But I get it.


trtlz: So it's pretty obvious why it's a great thing for sure, but what do you think is the biggest issue with it? I know that just anyone can do it, but do you feel it takes something away from other artists?


Chef Squid: I feel the scene is becoming talentless and the majority of people just want something catchy. Music in my opinion is supposed to have meaning. Folk songs had meaning that talked about heart break and pain and then psycdelic music came and talked trials and tribulation now mainstream music is like spoiled oatmeal.


trtlz: I agree that it should have meaning.   And there's still a ton of great music out there. But I can see how it's become kind of a joke as well.


trtlz: you were saying before, you do open mic and other gigs. Do you ever get nervous?


Chef Squid: To be honest not really nervous I’m most nervous once I’m done with my set waiting to see how the set was interpreted.


trtlz: If you could work with another artist on a song, who would you like to do that with?


Chef Squid: That’s tough because there’s so many options. It’s a tie between Cosmo Pyke or Connan Mockasin.


trtlz : when you're not doing music, what are you usually up to? What are your main hobbies?


Chef Squid: Going on walks, watching the weather channel, and going to new restaurants.


trtlz: Can you think of the coolest or best restaurant you've been to so far?


Chef Squid: The coolest restaurant in Indy hands down is this place called Punch Burger


trtlz: I feel like I saw somewhere that you have a dope collection of socks. I really hope that was you haha. I also have a dope sock collection so I find that admirable. What is the coolest sock pair you own?


Chef Squid: I do have a collection of socks and other than my pair of socks with my logo on them I’d say my thunderstorm socks by Odd Sox are my favorite.


trtlz: Well shoot. You have socks with your logo? That's awesome!


trtlz: Also, blue q socks are pretty cool


Chef Squid: Haven’t heard of them


trtlz: what's the best meal of the day?


Chef Squid: Depends on the day but after a long day dinner is usually the best. Sometimes I do eat a big lunch and dinner is forgotten about.


trtlz : I feel like nobody ever picks lunch. It's always breakfast. And then dinner. I'm a fan of lunch.


Chef Squid: All depends. weekend brunch is a favorite though.


trtlz: I can accept brunch as a favorite


trtlz: It sounds classy


trtlz: Do you have any specific goals in mind for this year?


Chef Squid: My goals for this year is to record a full album and to also visit a state I haven’t been to yet which there’s still many to chose from.


trtlz: Do you have some top choices in mind?


Chef Squid: Colorado, Arizona, Texas, and Minnesota


trtlz: Yeah I'd love to check out Colorado!


trtlz: Texas too!


trtlz: Well, I'm all out of questions. Is there anything else you'd like to add?


Chef Squid: If you are interested in checking out some chill vibes check me out on Spotify and Apple Music at Chef Squid and Instagram, Twitter, & SoundCloud at ChefSquid317

trtlz: Awesome! Thanks so much again for the interview!!

Chef Squid: You’re welcome 🙂 appreciate you giving me the opportunity



Check out some of Chef Squid’s music on Spotify here: https://tinyurl.com/y6c8vhs3


13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page