top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturetrtlz

Interview with dylan xo

Updated: Feb 27, 2020



I got to do interview #4 with dylan xo! Check it out here:



trtlz: Let's start with an introduction. Who is dylan xo? How would you describe your style?

dylan xo: my style is pretty much just however i'm feeling at the moment. i don't really know how to exactly describe it. it's just me honestly. trtlz: ok ok. Is there any type of style you usually are drawn to the most or does it all really vary? dylan xo: i don't know what to call it exactly because i don't want to be associated with a specific genre. the style doesn't matter too much to me as long as i can get some things off my chest. trtlz: ok, that's actually pretty cool.  trtlz: how long have you been making music? dylan xo: on soundcloud i've only been releasing music for about a year and a half, but i've been attempting and writing since i was maybe 16. trtlz: what do you love about making music the most? dylan xo: i love being able to express myself and the idea of reaching people who feel the same way. it means the world to me when people tell me that my music helps them in any way. trtlz: ya, i can imagine how awesome that must be. i appreciate the honesty and transparency in your songs. i know i can't be the only one. trtlz: who would you say are your biggest musical influences? dylan xo: i'd have to say xxxtentacion, lil peep, suicideboys, and just a mix of underground artists. trtlz: ok nice trtlz: where does your inspiration come from when writing a song? dylan xo: it's hard to say. i'm typically just a mess emotionally, so i just assume it comes from over thinking everything. most of my songs come from me just sulking for long periods at a time trtlz: i think a lot of us are the same way. at least for me, that is one of the biggest reasons i appreciate your music so much. it's relatable. trtlz: what is your favorite dylan xo song? dylan xo: i'm really not that sure. i'd probably have to pick forsaken trtlz: ok, what do you like most about it? dylan xo: mainly the meaning of the song. at the time it was somewhat a message to god and i was just expressing my frustrations to him. which i still deal with trtlz: i feel you on that. definitely something i can relate to for sure. trtlz: we kind of discussed this before a little bit, but what do you hope people get out of your music when listening? dylan xo: nothing specific. just whatever they can as long as it benefits them. trtlz: So you are part of a group called Blood Mist? Can you tell me about that? dylan xo: yeah, i came up with the idea of a collective about a year ago and started it with my friend aaron and some others. however, now it's a group of artists that have a real passion for their craft. some collectives are all about business and it's just a toxic environment. yeah it's business with us as well, but we put our love for our art first. trtlz: that is really cool. i like a lot of the artists that are part of it. and i can totally see that this group puts the love for the art first. trtlz: Anyone that knows about you is aware that you maaaaybe like anime a little bit. What do you like about anime? Which is your favorite? dylan xo: i just like animation in general, but anime is probably my favorite thing to watch in my spare time. it's got everything. action, comedy, or it can even play with your emotions. my favorite is naruto. even my collective is named after it trtlz: ya some of these animes can destroy you emotionally at times haha trtlz: if you could be in an anime or be any person in an anime, who would you be? dylan xo: there's a lot honestly, but i'd probably choose someone from one piece like luffy or zoro. i think i would be extremely happy to be on the sea, exploring, and shaking up the world with my friends. trtlz: same. but probably because it's one of the few i've seriously tried watching haha trtlz: but that really is a good answer trtlz: If you could go visit any place/anywhere, where would you choose? dylan xo: oh no question. japan or south korea for sure. those women have stolen my heart and i need to go find a wifey trtlz: oh ya it would be dope to see either of those. I am a sucker for South Korea myself. That is definitely on my list. Not for a wifey though, just to be clear haha. trtlz: thanks for doing this! Is there anything else you'd like anyone to know or you'd like to add? dylan xo: nothing much really. i pride myself in being real and genuine with my lyrics. if that's up your alley then check me out. if you don't like dark subject matter then it may get a little too much for you at times so beware



That's dylan xo. He's cool and his music is awesome so check out his soundcloud here: https://tinyurl.com/yxeb5o4n

36 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page