top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturetrtlz

Interview with Moon and Snow

Updated: Aug 3, 2019


For interview #16, I got the opportunity to chat with Moon and Snow! We talk about his influences, how he got started in music, past, current, and future projects, Vegas (sort of haha), and more! Get to know Moon and Snow here:



trtlz: Of course I always like to start with an introduction. Tell me a little bit about yourself. Who is Moon and Snow?


Moon and Snow: So my name is Jeremy Myslinski. I’ve been playing for many years in a bunch of different bands that didn’t work out for one reason or another. Over those years I wrote a bunch of songs for some of the bands and some songs that were more personal for me. But they all were ‘my sound’. So eventually I wanted to put these songs out and give them a fair shake. That’s what I’m doing with this project. Focusing on writing the songs that I want to write


trtlz: That's gotta be nice just being able to write the songs you want to write and the way you want it to sound


trtlz: Do you prefer doing stuff like that over being in a whole band?


Moon and Snow: Yeah, I wrote a bunch of stuff I was really proud of. I should give it a voice.

And I love playing in bands. I think they are a great experience. I’ve played with some amazing musicians that have taught me a ton. I plan on getting a band together after I record the next album and going out and gigging. I think that is a really important part of making music and getting an audience for it.


Moon and Snow: But I guess, to further clarify for right now I think the most important focus for me is to focus on my song writing


trtlz: So you like both in different ways. Doing your own thing and your own style but also being in a band and getting to work with different people and mixing styles


Moon and Snow: Definitely. I think when I was actively focused in bands I was neglecting my songwriting. Which seems counter intuitive. But I just need to make sure I have the space to write


trtlz: How did you get started with music?


Moon and Snow: I randomly bought a guitar in seventh grade from a neighbor. I dug a ditch around his house to pay for it. The guitar sat for 1.5 years until I reconnected with a friend of mine who had become a really good drummer. He was inspiring and I decided to focus on my playing. After that I really started learning a lot of heavy metal songs (I was in that swim lane at the time). About a year after that I joined a band and started writing my own material. After that I worked in a bunch of different genres and learned various instruments, at time being a drummer or bassist. Anything I could do to play.


trtlz: That's awesome! And yes I remember you mentioning you played drums as well! Are you pretty familiar with guitar, drums, and bass or is there one that is your primary instrument?


Moon and Snow: I would say guitar is my primary instrument. I grew up in an apartment so it was the only thing I could focus on consistently. Drums are so much fun and I would love to join a band as a drummer in the future. It’s just a fun experience. Lately I’ve enjoyed singing the most though. I’m trying to focus on my singing a lot more now, practice it like it is an instrument.


trtlz : Yes same about drums. I haven't been able to play really because I have nowhere to play them.


trtlz: And I like that point of view on singing and treating it like it's an instrument


Moon and Snow: I have an electric kit now, which is still loud. But I can practice on it. Which is nice.


Moon and Snow: Yeah singing is interesting. There is such a giving in you have to do with it. It’s taken me years to get to a point where I can feel confident in my singing. But I’m still working on that every day


trtlz: So is there a story behind the name Moon and Snow? How did you come up with that?


Moon and Snow: Yeah, after I left my last band I was sitting on a bunch of material to put out (still am, it’s coming). I decided to put it out as a solo act. I had a working name that I liked and may still use for another project. But as these songs came together I started to realize I had a water theme going on on the first album. I have a song called ‘Moon and Snow’ that I named because I thought the song was really serene and I wanted to just capture something that I thought was really beautiful. I really think the snow under the moon is one of those experiences that just hits you deep. So the more I thought about it the more I liked it. Boom, band name!


trtlz: I wouldn't know about the snow under the moon being from Florida but that sounds so nice. It is a really cool name!


trtlz: What inspires you to create music and who are some of your favorite musical influences?


Moon and Snow: I still love heavy metal. But I used to be very narrow minded when I was younger - an elitist. Some bands I love right now are Devin Townsend, Coheed and Cambria, Carpenter brut, emancipator and bad religion. Music across different styles can hit me hard. I’m always on the lookout for cool new stuff that I feel kind of resonates with me. It’s always good for inspiration too.


trtlz: Yeah I grew up listening to a bunch of like hardcore and punk bands but now I appreciate so many different genres they are all so great in different ways. And one kind hits you one day and then another hits different another day


trtlz: So you've had "Ripples in A Sea of Light" out for a while, but can you describe how it was creating that? Is it a collection of songs you've been writing for a while?


Moon and Snow: Yeah, some of them have been around for a while. ‘There Are No Real Monsters’ was started in 2006 or 2007. That one took a long time. I wrote ‘I’ve Killed You’ earlier than that after a friend of mine passed away. So some of them date back from then. But then I wrote ‘I can see your whole world...’ as the last song for the album. The inspiration hit and that song came together quick. But the beginning of that album goes back to when a band I was in broke up and I wanted to try writing some electronic music. I just started experimenting and really liked how things were going. I learned a lot working on that album. Some of it I wrote at the piano. Some of it on an acoustic. I would try and steal time away while my kids were asleep, so a lot of it was me waking up at 4-5 am to go record. It was a crazy experience to be honest.


trtlz: What would you say is your favorite song from "Ripples in A Sea of Light"?


Moon and Snow: It’s probably a tie between “Monsters” and “I can see your world”. I put a bunch of instrumentals on there that I love, but I think it lowered the accessibility of the album. Those two were fun to write and have good hooks, they kind of act as a focus for my style going forward.


trtlz: Well that's awesome because my favorite song off that album is "I Can See Your Whole World From Here". You said before it came together really quickly. Was it just sudden inspiration that hit or was there something specific that inspired it?


Moon and Snow : Thank you! Yeah, I got the hook kind of out of the blue. So I grabbed my acoustic and worked it all out there. Then i was flying somewhere so I did a lot of the work on that song on a plane. The lyrics were inspired by an interaction I had with someone at work who has some very controversial views and offends people often, but is very easily offended by other people.


Moon and Snow: It was fun to translate that one from acoustic to full electronic


trtlz: Thats actually an interesting story behind it! The music, the lyrics, everything! That makes it even better


trtlz: And is that how a lot of your songs start? Acoustic and then transferred into electronic?

Moon and Snow: Yeah. It’s interesting when you can see someone’s schtick, and wonder why they can’t.


Moon and Snow: It depends. But yeah, I do most of my writing on my acoustic. It just winds up in my hands. Even the heavy metal project I’m doing right now, I’ve written songs for that on my acoustic. But if I find myself at my keyboard I usually write there. That’s where “Monsters” came from.


trtlz: So you usually start with the acoustic guitar. How does that go? Does it start out with like a melody you can't get out of your head? When writing, what usually comes next? Do you go with a catchy bassline, or do you add the percussions?


trtlz: How does it transform into the electronic version for your last album?


Moon and Snow: Each song is different. If I have the melody that is usually easy because I can back track from that. But if I don’t have the melody I can really agonize over it. That can be the hardest part for me, writing melodies. But if I have a song I try to finish the song on the acoustic, get the whole structure. Then I go back and see what’s it’s missing. I usually work on drums next. Bass is usually last. I love writing bass lines and they usually comes easily.

For “I can see” I had already decided right after I had the hook that I wanted it to be fully electronic. So the biggest part to that was having the whole structure down. Then deciding what was missing and where I wanted to add more.


trtlz : Of course now you're working on your newest project! Which is a lot different. Heavier , right? Can you give any details about that yet?


Moon and Snow: Yeah, it’s a black metal project called “The Coming Darkness” and the album is called “All Men Must Die”. I’m working with my nephew on it. It’s got a lot of cool atmospheric keyboards on it. He wrote some really great songs and I had some songs that I had kicking around that needed a fair shake. We wrote some really cool songs together. I’m super proud of it. I’m mixing it right now and I think it sounds great. The vocals are the typical scream/growl that you get in this genre. It was challenging to do those vocals as I haven’t done them in a while. But all in all it came out great. I’m hoping to having it all wrapped up in a few weeks.


trtlz: I’m actually really excited to hear that. I can’t wait! That’s awesome you are able to do this with your nephew too. Do you plan on releasing any songs early or just waiting until it’s all completely done and dropping it at once?


Moon and Snow: I don’t know to be honest. We’ll probably release a song upfront in the next couple weeks once they’ve all taken shape while work on the cover and art is finishing up. I’ll keep you posted!


trtlz: You’re always amazing at supporting other artists as well, which is super cool of you. Are there any specific artists either bigger or more underground you’d like to collaborate with or play a show with in the future?


Moon and Snow: I have a couple people around here I’d like to work with. A friend of mine played in a group called ‘Bright Nights’ who I think is really talented. I’d like to work with him on some slower, acoustic stuff. But I’m looking for someone to work on an all electronic project with. Something like boards of Canadaor something. I’ve got names for these projects and some music, but that one is really important to me. I just need to find the right person. So if you hear of anyone, let me know!


Moon and Snow: I plan on doing a project with my sister at some point and of course working on the next Moon and Snow album, and then getting artists to support that live.


trtlz: Yes I will definitely let you know if I think of someone that would be good for that, and hopefully someone will read this and be like yesss that’s me! That’s really awesome you have some really good goals/plans for your music


trtlz: I saw you’re going to Vegas this weekend with your dad! Haha. First time? I’m guessing so since you said you don’t know what to expect!


Moon and Snow: No I’ve been before, it’s just my first time there with my dad. That will be interesting, just the two of us. I’m excited though. He just retired and I think he’ll enjoy the time. And who knows, maybe I’ll win?!


trtlz: Ahh ok! That’s so awesome though. Should be a blast. And for sure , fingers crossed there will be some winning!


Moon and Snow: Definitely! I’ll let you know how it goes


trtlz: Thank you so much again for doing this! I learned a lot and it was so interesting for me. Is there anything else you’d like to add?


Moon and Snow: Yeah, just that I’m already working on Moon and Snow 2 and I think it will be more guitar oriented than Ripples. That is kind of my vision anyway. We’ll see how it comes out.

And thank you so much too. I really like what you are doing. I think it’s good for you and good for the scene. Keep it up!!



You can check out Moon and Snow's music on Spotify here: https://tinyurl.com/y499k2cy

92 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page