top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturetrtlz

Interview with Nehuen (drummer of Kyoto Lo-Fi)


Interview #5. This one was a blast because it was with the drummer for one of my favorites Kyoto Lo-Fi! Get to know Nehuen below:



trtlz: Hello! This is my first interview with a drummer for a band and I'm so excited!


trtlz: So let's begin with a little intro. Tell me about yourself and your band. For those wondering, how would you describe Kyoto Lo-Fi?


Nehuen: Well I’m Nehuen, but my friends call me Nunu. It's easier to say and spell. I'm mostly a goofy guy, for the most part.


Nehuen: I would describe us as Post Indie since we generally write and play different kinds of styles of music but with our own twist to it. For a while we were trying to go for a rock/ garage vibe but it's so hard to just describe yourself as that and stick to that one style


Nehuen: So we created our own lol


trtlz: I always feel like the best bands are the ones you can't really fit into a specific genre


Nehuen: Thanks! We just try to do what we think sounds good


trtlz: Well you are really good at that haha


trtlz: How long have you been playing drums? Did you teach yourself? Do you play any other instruments?


Nehuen: I’ve been playing drums for 11 years now... damn lol


Nehuen: My parents bought me a used set from the pawn shop for my birthday when I was 12. Ever since then I taught myself by listening to songs and trying to copy the beat


Nehuen: I can play trombone, bass and piano pretty well. My guitar skills aren’t there just yet, but I dabble lol


trtlz: Oh ok, whoa. You could be your own band!


trtlz: And that's so awesome you taught yourself. You are very good so that is impressive!


trtlz: Have you done or maybe are you currently doing any solo type projects?


Nehuen: Hopefully I can do a solo ep or something but for now I’m focused on Kyoto 😁


Nehuen: I have rough demos to reference back to whenever I get the time/gear to make a solid ep


trtlz: That's pretty cool. I think it would be awesome to hear some solo stuff from you!


trtlz: Who are your biggest musical influences?


Nehuen: Damon Albarn, Gustavo Cerrati, Andre 3000, Phoenix and Foals


Nehuen: Those are my top 5 😊


trtlz: Nice, got a cool variety going on there


trtlz: What about your biggest drummer influences?


Nehuen: Matt Tong, Travis Barker, Stewart Copeland and Ian Chang


trtlz: Do you have any specific gear preferences? I mean, I'm sure you do. Who doesn't? Haha. Like what kind of kit do you have, favorite cymbal brand, skins/heads, stick choice etc. And why did you choose those?


Nehuen: I used to be a pearl drums guy but I went around playing some sets and honestly Tama drums compliment my style of playing. Low but bright tone on the toms, and a good deep bass.


Nehuen: Cymbals right now I’m liking the Zildjian dark customs but one time we recorded at this studio and I used some dark Istanbul cymbals that I fell in love with but they’re super expensive and I’m broke lol


Nehuen: When it comes to sticks I play 5A. The brand doesn’t matter since at the end they always end up beat up


trtlz: I don't know if it was obvious or not with my twitter being @thedrumster123 or my slight obsession talking drums, but I play (or played? its been a while) drums and my mom plays and she had pearl so I just grew up playing only pearl and for some reason I hated it haha. And when I started looking at drum stuff on my own I fell in love with pork pie drums, but never did get one.


trtlz: I did get a snare and throne pork pie though haha


trtlz: How you feel about those cymbals is how I felt about pork pie drums haha


Nehuen: I was close to buying one of their sets but I didn’t pull the trigger


Nehuen: Lol that’s so cool! Did your mom teach you how to play when you started?


trtlz: I taught myself with them just being in the house


Nehuen: That’s freaking dope! I like when people try to teach themselves. It’s like exploring a whole foreign thing and figuring it out.


trtlz: Yeah it definitely is. To be honest, I didn't like it at first and tried to learn keyboard, guitar, trumpet, and bass. But I sucked at all of those, so I stuck with the drums.


trtlz: I ended up liking it haha


NehuenDrums are fun as hell and also cool 😎


Nehuen: Whoever says otherwise is gonna catch hands lol


trtlz: What are your thoughts on electronic drums?


Nehuen: To practice they’re cool but to perform idk... I might be a purist but they look weird on stage. Specially if they’re trying to sound like an acoustic drum


Nehuen: At that point just buy a regular drum


trtlz: No I feel the same way. I don't even like them for practice, but I guess sometimes it could be nice. I guess for your neighbors haha.


Nehuen: Yeah or if you live in an apartment and just want to get some practice in


trtlz: What is it like being in the band? What do you love about it? Is there anything you don't love about it?


Nehuen: It’s like being in a relationship. You have your Peaks and valleys.


Nehuen: What I love about it is that for 45 minutes I get to just let go of everything and just focus on playing drums. It’s corny but for me it feels that way.



Nehuen: What I don’t like about it is all the bs you have to go through. From shady promoters to no parking lol but that’s part of the game


trtlz: That is a perfect explanation, makes total sense.


trtlz: And for sure, no parking must be THE. WORST.


Nehuen: For real, fucking parking is annoying lol


trtlz: I know I feel that just by going to shows haha


Nehuen: And then you have to pay for parking lol uggggghhh


trtlz: You guys should charge the venue a parking fee for playing haha


Nehuen: Lol for real! Or at least have a designated loading area


trtlz: Who do you vibe with most in the band while playing? Or is it an equal vibe with everyone for you?


Nehuen: I vibe equal when it comes to playing 😁


trtlz: What would you say is your favorite song to play and why?


Nehuen: "Vanishing Rumors" (which we’re finishing the mixing)


Nehuen: I like that song because it’s not a basic verse chorus verse chorus it’s more like a piece... it has its movements lol.


trtlz: Yeah, I don't think I know that song yet since I don't ever get to see you guys live 😢


trtlz: Speaking of mixing... Everyone is eagerly waiting on a Kyoto Lo-Fi album. I guess you can't say too much just yet, but how is that process going?


Nehuen: Well currently we’re finishing our single, we want an album, but we might release an ep to promote the album lol


trtlz: How do you feel when playing shows? Do you ever get nervous?


Nehuen: I do and I don’t lol. Sometimes I get into my head but when I finally sit down on my throne every feeling goes away and the adrenaline kicks in lol


trtlz: That's awesome. The adrenaline is like magic!


trtlz: Whenever I had to play in front of people, I had to wear sunglasses. For some reason, that made me feel better about it.


Nehuen: Damn right lol


Nehuen: I bet you also looked cool af 😎


trtlz: Haha probably not, most of the time it was inside and at night. But I did get a few people always sing that Sunglasses At Night song to me!


trtlz: Where is your favorite place to play a show? Where would you say the coolest place you've played is or what the most memorable show you've played is?


Nehuen: I really like this Dallas spot called Armoury D.E and the House shows in Denton.


Nehuen: Memorable show as of recent was at this house show in Denton called the lighthouse. The crowd was rowdy and I enjoy feeding off their energy


trtlz: Yeah I can imagine any shows where the crowd is like super into it and and just jamming out to your music with you has to be a blast and feel pretty good too. 


Nehuen: Yeah, specially when you’re rocking out at someone’s living room lol


trtlz: Haha! For sure.


trtlz: I feel like you kind of mentioned a little about this before, but what is your favorite thing about playing drums?


Nehuen: I think you did mention that but I just enjoy playing and the escapism it gives me. Like I’m living in the moment, nothing matters just the drums, Kyoto and I


trtlz: Yup, totally get that


trtlz: What do you feel has helped you evolve as a drummer/musician?


Nehuen: Being open minded to criticism


Nehuen: Like acknowledging my weaknesses and actively trying to fix them


trtlz: Haha I was never good at that. Well, when the criticism was coming from someone who didn't even play. But I can definitely see how that could be helpful


Nehuen: That is true, but I try to not take it as personal sometimes


trtlz: When you're not being the amazing drummer of Kyoto Lo-Fi, what can you usually be found doing?


Nehuen: Asleep/Working/At Practice/Music. Lol my world is Kyoto and the people I love. I try to keep it simple.


trtlz: That's really cool how much you love it


trtlz: I think it makes the music even better


Nehuen: I appreciate it 😁


Nehuen: It’s a passion


trtlz: Yeah I can tell. For you and the others. It really shows.


trtlz: I am so glad you agreed to this. Thanks so much! Is there anything else you'd like to add?


Nehuen: No, thank you for supporting music it’s awesome


trtlz: Your music is awesome!


trtlz: I really am a fan haha


Nehuen: Thank you ❤️😖



That's Nehuen (Nunu), drummer of Kyoto Lo-Fi. You can check out Kyoto Lo-Fi on Spotify here: http://tinyurl.com/y26ll2uv


70 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page