top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturetrtlz

Interview with PopCulturePirates

Updated: Jul 12, 2019


I got to do my first ever interview with PopCulturePirates! Check it out below:



trtlz: Who is PopCulturePirates? How long have you been making music? Did you start singing at the same time you started playing?


PCP: Ok ok ok.

PopCulturePirates is me. It’s my “solo” project, which began when I started learning how to write songs and produce music. I started making music around my last year of high school. I didn’t start singing until years after I started learning to make music.


trtlz: Wow ok. This was a horrible idea. This is gonna turn into me asking you a ton of questions and it's supposed to be short

:( (this is not going to be included haha)


PCP: Hahaha,You should include it!


trtlz: So you literally make everything yourself for PopCulturePirates? Did you teach yourself how to write/play and produce?


PCP: Yup! I did. But nowadays everyone is self taught, so it’s not special or unique.


trtlz: Ok, so when it's good it still counts as being special and unique. Not everyone is good at it.


PCP: Hmm... I would say the majority is good.

The ones that stick with it.

It’s a learned trait after all.


trtlz: That's true.


trtlz: What do you love most about doing PopCulturePirates? What is the most challenging thing about PCP?


PCP: Well, I just like making music in general.

But if I was to say specifically what I like of PCP as opposed to my other project, then I love the fact that I can just upload my music whenever I want. And I can make whatever music I want. A pop song, a dark sad song, indie garage song.


PCP: The most challenging?

Hmmm... musical dry spells.

Which I’m going through right now.


trtlz: Same with me for this writing thing. I thought about seeing if I could write for someone but I just wanted to do whatever I wanted so I decided to go for it instead. But you didn't ask. So, Haha. Next question.


trtlz: And by the way, I'm actually surprised you have those haha. Dry spells. Considering how many demos you say you have.


PCP: I have like tons and tons of demos and songs

Over a thousand for sure.

But most of them are bad haha


trtlz: Haha, sure.


trtlz: Next question is hopefully easy.


trtlz: What do you feel is the best song you have released and why?


PCP: Hmm...

It changes really. My headspace, inspiration, and direction changes drastically from one day to the next.


PCP: But right now it’s probably Athlete.

Well, I guess it’s not really released yet, but you’ve heard it.


trtlz: Ya it's definitely a favorite for me. I saved it and I listen to it all the time haha. Hope that's ok.


PCP: Haha of course!


PCP: Also, Everything is Forever and Where is the Destruction are pretty cool.

Like in terms of songwriting, I’m happy with those.

Very unconventional structures. Interesting progressions.


trtlz: I agree about Everything is Forever and Where is the Destruction. I mean those were my first favorites since they were the singles before Palo Alto came out.


trtlz: Now the whole thing is one big favorite haha.


trtlz: Speaking of favorites, What inspired you to write my current favorite song from the album? Which is Plastic Pool.


PCP: Oh shoot!

Haha I honestly thought nobody would like that one. But I like the chorus. That one is also arranged weirdly.


PCP: The basis for that song was just how people change. Putting it in a vague way.


PCP: “The people that you’re missing they’ll never be the same.”


PCP: Just how people are constantly changing, and everyday you are a brand new person, you aren’t the same you were yesterday.


PCP: But my lyrics are pretty obscure, vague, and personal.


trtlz: Yeah, I can definitely see that about your lyrics, but I like it.


trtlz: Ok, so I also have to ask about your song on Soundcloud, I guess you call it "Oceano". That's different, but I personally love it. How did you end up writing that?


PCP: I am always trying new things, new sounds.

That one came pretty quick.

Trying to do more pop and radio friendly.


trtlz: What do you think of it? Is that a direction you plan to keep going in?


PCP: Well, I’m open to it. It relies a lot more on vocals than it does on other instruments or instrumentation for that matter.


PCP: It’s a lot more accessible to people. It’s more in line with what’s in right now.


trtlz: Have you submitted anything for the radio?


PCP: For radio radio, no.

My music is not very radio friendly.

I submit to blogs every once in a while. But not radio really.


trtlz: Ahhh ok. Ya most radio I would assume not. Not because it's not good, cause it's probably better than everything on the radio, but I get it. I just didn't know if maybe you guys had like a cool station that plays that kind of stuff.


PCP: Well there’s one that’s played my other band’s stuff but still that is way more refined than the PCP stuff.


trtlz: If you had the opportunity to collab with anyone (as PCP), would you and who would it be?


PCP: Hmm

I don’t know... turns out I’m not very good at collaborating.


PCP: But I’d probably say Grimes. For... very specific reasons.


trtlz: Hahaha nice!

Oh shoot. I forgot to tell you, Elon Musk is a loyal reader of my music blog.


PCP: Sorry I had a typo

It’s Krimes not Grimes

Krimes is a british rapper

Yeah would love to collab with him.


trtlz: Haha! Krimes is actually kind of a dope rapper name. If you ever decide to do a little side project.


trtlz: Except its taken. By the British rapper. Right?


PCP: I was just thinking that, it is actually pretty cool.


trtlz: How do you like being part of Breakwood Records? How did that come about?


PCP: Well being with breakwoods has been all through the web so it doesn’t go beyond emails, calls, and texts. But it’s really cool because they actually listen to my material and care.


PCP: So it’s nice to have that. You always need some opinions on your work. And sometimes other people are just like “yeah, it’s cool” “or nah it sucks” so them actually listening every time and being honest and critical about it, it’s really cool.


trtlz: When you're not making music, what can you usually be found doing?


PCP: When I'm not making music?


PCP: Woah. I don’t know.


PCP: Writing probably


trtlz: Anything else you'd like to add?


PCP: I don’t know what else to add!


trtlz: Well, then that's a wrap!. Thanks so much for this.


You can stream PopCulturePirates latest album Palo Alto on Spotify here: https://tinyurl.com/y3ac93ue

And Bandcamp here: https://tinyurl.com/yxtr442f

65 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page