top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturetrtlz

Interview with Puar

Updated: Jun 15, 2019


So for interview #12, I got this crazy awesome opportunity to ask Puar a few questions. Get to know a little about Puar right here:



trtlz: Let’s start off by learning a bit about you if that’s Ok- Who is Puar? How would you describe yourself?

Puar: My name is Riley Juhasz, I'm a 26 year old beat maker from BC, Canada. I'm not going to dive too deep into a self description, to put it simply I'm an eccentric, easy going, tender-hearted, creative type of individual. trtlz: For those wondering, how did you come up with the name?


Puar: I used to watch a lot of Dragon Ball Z as a kid and there is a character in the show called Puar. A few years back I thought that it would be a unique name for SoundCloud, I'm still rolling with it. 

trtlz: How would you describe your music?


Puar: Imperfectly perfect. trtlz: What was it like for you getting involved in the world of music? Were you influenced by it from an early age?

Puar: I've been in love with music for as long as I can remember, I played in bands as a young teenager and then transitioned into a DJ/Beatmaker.

trtlz: When did you realize that you wanted to start doing this? Was there like an aha! moment?

Puar: I started going to clubs and bush party's when I finished high school where I would see a lot of DJs and Producers, eventually got curious enough to start doing things myself. DJing and Production quickly became my favourite things to do. trtlz: What did you start making music with? Do you use anything different now than from when your first started?

Puar: Technically guitar was my first tool for creating music long ago. Lately I'm using Ableton, multiple samplers, and multiple 3rd party VST's. The first DAW that I ever owned was Logic Pro 9, I didn't even no what EQing was back then. trtlz: Do you have any favourite techniques that you like to use in your music? Puar: Maximizing headroom, Gain staging, and Compression/vinyl simulation. trtlz: Are there any artists that you’d really like to try working with?

Puar: At this point in time I've stopped inquiring about collabs for the most part. I'd like to work with a lot of artists and they all know who they are. trtlz: What are some trends you see in music that you think are working really great?

Puar: Anime/Cartoons for album/track art. trtlz: Have you noticed any trends that you feel aren’t so great?

Puar: Posting comments that promote yourself on other peoples tracks. trtlz: Do you like playing live? Do you get to do that often?

Puar: It's pretty fun, I used to do it a lot, I'm getting back into it a little bit. trtlz: Do you have a specific track or project you’re most proud of?

Puar: gang moves w/ [ bsd.u ] trtlz: Any special goals or plans for your music?

Puar: Not really at this point, it would be sweet to get a track to 1M plays someday. trtlz: Besides making music, what do you like doing for fun?

Puar: Too many things to list.


Check out Puar's music on Soundcloud here: https://tinyurl.com/y4jth83p and Spotify here: https://tinyurl.com/yxg3xmam

44 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page