top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturetrtlz

Sad Eyes- The Night Birds


So I found these guys on Instagram just randomly searching for music. They are a fun rock band in Alabama called The Night Birds. They have a cool southern rock feel, but more rock than southern. Their song “Sad Eyes” is a cool jam and that’s the one I want to focus on.



This song has an upbeat rock sound with that southern style groove. If you don’t catch that southern sound with the music, you’ll definitely hear it in the vocals. I like it, it fits well with the style of this song.


It begins with heavy guitar and some funky rock bass. The drums have a nice simple, solid beat. The music actually continues that way pretty much throughout the song. It’s an interesting track because the music is so cheerful and playful, but the lyrics seem to focus on keeping your emotions hidden (especially the unhappy ones).


If the title “Sad Eyes” didn’t already give it away, lyrics such as “You can tell by the look in my eyes, they’re so hard to disguise” and “I’m walking all around with my head held down and I just don’t know why” will do it. And then of course, the lyrics to go with the song title, “Sad eyes are so hard to hide”.


I like the part towards the end at around 1:17; the song turns into an exciting little jam session. This would be the part that has you rocking out (if you’re not already, that is). It’s a cool ending with only the instruments.


If you’re into southern style rock, I suggest checking out The Night Birds. You can do so on SoundCloud here: https://tinyurl.com/y6afj64d

80 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page