top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturetrtlz

Trouble- dylan xo ft. 4everunknown, Pastnight. (Prod. emptyvenom)



After impressing us with his recent EP, departure!, as well as a few singles, dylan xo's latest track "trouble" ft. 4everunknown and Pastnight (produced by emptyvenom) was still able to make it on my list of top songs listened to.


Aside from it being a dylan xo track, before I even heard this, I had high expectations knowing this is emptyvenom's beat, as many of his past beats have been a favorite. This particular beat has a nice guitar based melody that is accompanied by trappy bass and drums and it really goes hard.


The song starts out solid with dylan xo's verse. I really like the transition between singing and rap. As if that wasn't a nice touch on its own, the layers of the vocals with the main and backing also really give this song some extra flavor. When I listen to this verse, I can feel the emotion in the singing. I tend to think of dylan xo as a clever lyricist. The shift from more sensitive lyrics about combating feelings of loneliness vs happiness to a grittier topic really segues nicely into the next verse.


Popping up with even more cutthroat lyrics in his verse is 4everunknown. His flow is really smooth and intertwines with the beat as if they were one. The autotune is heavier here, but not overly done. The lyrics are soulful and pour out the frustrations of being an artist especially in the underground scene, and struggling to find happiness even through rejection.


Pastnight rolls through in the last verse with the same conflict of striving to make it in the music scene, but with more assurance portrayed in lyrics like "Me, my bros, and I, we gon make it give it time". The lyrics continue with boosted confidence, but then hit a slightly grim mood towards the end. I really like his vocals in this verse because they have a smooth sound and more of a singing rap style than most of his tracks I've heard before.


This track has made a bold appearance on all of my streaming platforms and quickly became a favorite. It's full of spirit from the beat, to the vocals, and right through to the lyrics. Overall, I am really impressed with this song and it makes me intrigued to see what dylan xo puts out next.


Check out dylan xo's latest track, trouble on Spotify https://tinyurl.com/wbfzmxs or Soundcloud https://tinyurl.com/wtoj5wh.

25 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page