top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturetrtlz

Why Are You Doing This?


The music world can be harsh and exhausting both physically and mentally. But also can be thrilling and gratifying. When you decide to make that choice to get involved in it, usually it's an exciting step so you start off with feelings of joy and excitement (with maybe some apprehension attached). Sometimes things happen and it could be both good things and things not so favorable- and those things can make you start second guessing yourself.


Before starting this blog, I used to see tweets from artists all the time getting discouraged and wanting to quit and had no idea why. Then I somewhat got involved by doing this blog and after my 4th write up, I quit. I only made it to 4 haha. I was so discouraged and scared and felt not good enough at all and gave up. But then a few people told me not to quit.


After a bit of thinking and figuring out what I want, I got back into it. Because I love it. And even though the goal is to expose artists and help people discover some amazing music, I decided that it's fun for me and even if nobody else cares about it, I want to keep it going. So that's what I did. And so far, even though I am not well known at all, I've gotten some pretty positive responses from this and have met a bunch of cool people because of it so it's worth it to me.


I know a lot of you feel the same way with your music. Sometimes you compare your work and progress with other artists and feel inadequate. Maybe you're not as well known as you'd like to be. Maybe you wish you had more plays and likes. Maybe you've hit a dry spell in your writing and feel like your music career is doomed. Maybe you've been trolled. Or maybe you're overwhelmed with too much fame.


Whatever it is, don't let it consume your thoughts. Don't allow it to discourage you and lead you to quit. If you love music, stick with it no matter what. But be sure you take care of yourself as well. It's ok to take breaks sometimes. Just don't let it be the end unless you truly feel deep down that it's time to close that door.


Music is so beautiful and there can never be too much. So stick it out. And if you haven't already, hit me up so I can make sure I've heard it!


Let me know why you make music and if you have any advice for other artists out there!

29 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page